top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

The Not-Outcast by Tijan

This is a standalone novel.


Rating: 10/5 (Yes, I'm giving this novel a 10/5)


Spoiler Alert: Low



Summary:


Cutler Ryder was everything I wasn't.


He was the hockey star. I was an outcast.

He was best friends with my stepbrother, that same stepbrother who hated me.

His two parents loved him. My mom was a junkie. My dad barely knew me.


Years passed.

I got my life together.

Cut went onto NHL stardom.


Then there was a text.

I was drinking.

There was a party.

Cut was there...


I loved Cutler Ryder since the first moment I saw him.

The only problem? He never knew I existed.


Praises:


Plot


First, I would like the say that Tijan is a beautiful writer, and this book gave me butterflies. Okay, now that I've got that off my chest, I will start this review with the plot. The Not-Outcast is probably one of the most emotional and angsty contemporary romance novels I've read this year. Immediately, the book begins with a prologue about the main female character, Cheyenne. We are given background information on all of her struggles, including her mother, who has many issues, the tense relationships with other family members, and her mental health disorder. At the same time, Cheyenne is hopelessly in love with her step-brother's best friend, Cutler. Then fast forward to many years later, both Cheyenne and Cutler are in their twenties, and they finally get to know one another... Yes, I am evil, so I'm just going to leave the plot at that. Honestly, the book pulled me in so fast; I was furiously flipping through the pages because the plot is extremely developed and well-written.


Characters



OH BOY. OH BOY. OH BOY. Did I like the characters? No. I actually LOVE the characters.


Cheyenne is a powerful protagonist who suffers from a mental health disorder. She got this disorder because her mother was doing drugs while pregnant, causing an issue in Cheyenne's brain. However, instead of letting this disorder get in the way of her dreams and aspirations, Cheyenne truly shows how strong she is and lives her life to the fullest in her own unique way. I absolutely love that the main female character has a disorder. The way this book was written allows readers to understand exactly what Cheyenne is going through and her distinctive adaptation to the world.


Cutler is a brilliantly written character. He is the real representation of someone who can look past a person's mental disorder and instead sees a brave soul. This is exactly what he did with Cheyenne. When they finally interact and get to know each other, Cutler does not let Cheyenne's mental disorder define who she is. It does not bother him that she has a disorder. While reading this book, Cutler really stood out to me. He sees Cheyenne as a capable and beautiful person. I love how Tijan created a character that perceives mental disorders as a strength rather than a nuisance or weakness.


Also, Cheyenne's best friends, Sasha and Melanie, are the definitions of true friends!


Romance


The romance aspect of this novel is drool-worthy! Cheyenne and Cutler have a one-of-a-kind connection. I love how no matter what Cheyenne's stepbrother, Chad, said about her, Cutler would never betray or mistreat her. Throughout most of the novel, Chad has a grudge against Cheyenne, and he doesn't like her and her mental disorder. You would think that Cutler would listen to his best friend (Chad), but he really doesn't. I just love how emotional and raw the relationship between Cheyenne and Cutler was.


Narration/Writing Style


I cannot get over Tijan's writing style. She strips down every emotion in every scene. I literally got butterflies, and at some points, I had a few tears running out of the corner of my eye. The characters were very complex and written in such a detailed manner. Regarding the narration, this book is in the first person. The point of view alternates between Cheyenne and Cutler. I equally enjoyed reading both points of view. You can tell that the two characters' perspectives were composed with so much thought-out angst and emotion. Tijan is a writing master!


Critics


NO CRITICS.


Final Review



I DEFINITELY recommend The Not-Outcast to EVERY SINGLE PERSON IN THE WORLD. There aren't a lot of romance books where the main character has a mental disorder. Yet, this book does. It is really refreshing to read about a heroine struggling with disorders as it provides more insight into how real-life people deal with disorders. I cannot say this enough, but this book is so beautiful and intelligent. WONDERFULLY AND MASTERFULLY WRITTEN!!!


Happy Reading!

Cheers,


Jessica :)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page