top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Gypsy Rising by Kristy Cunning

Book #5 of "All the Pretty Monster" series.


Rating: 5/5 SPARKLY STARS!!!


Spoiler Alert: Low



Summary:


Sing, gypsies, sing of your lies...


That old song plays in my head, as the world turns around me faster than it has ever turned.


Monsters and mayhem. That's become my life.


Fear and apprehension. That's become the normal for those around me.


Dread and distraction. That's what has interrupted my own personal romance story with my mon-star quad.


Vengeance and retribution. That was the theme of the monster world long before I landed in it, and it's starting to heat up more than ever.


Jabs from a complicated, ancient past keep coming so much and so quickly that I've grown desensitized to them. Which is a good thing, since I'm about to need a thick skin.


I guess it's time to see if I can handle being in the middle, because that's where I'm about to put myself. My mother always did accuse me of being a masochist. I'm starting to think she must be right.


Either they love me, or they love her.


I suppose it's time to find out who wins. I don't fight pretty, and I'm not that great at smack talk.


It's not that they're not worth fighting for. I just don't want to have to fight for them. Not when I'm fighting bigger battles already. Either we're in this together, or I'm on my own. That's for them to decide on their own.


Let the games begin.


Praises:


Plot


HOLY. MACARONI. Can this series get any better?! Yes, it can. The fifth book, Gypsy Rising, exceeds every single one of my expectations. I'm seriously trying not to spoil anything, but it's really hard. So, I'm just going to keep the plot review simple and short. The plot is incredibly complex yet engaging. In this book, we see so much plot development and new conflicts and struggles arising. Yup, this is the whole plot review. Read the book to see how FANTASTIC the story of this book is. I'm fangirling right now. *sighs*


Characters



GAWD. DAMMM.


Violet is still the same sweet, brave, and caring girl with a dash of ruthlessness. In this gift book, she grows so much, and I feel like a proud mother watching her child grow. Violet develops a bigger backbone, doesn't let others walk all over her, and stands up for herself. She is a very wonderful and powerful heroine who, on numerous occasions, is not afraid to show vulnerabilities. I love that Violet isn't arrogant or incredibly prideful. She doesn't show off her powers or what she is proud of. Instead, Violet is humble, selfless, and loving towards those she cares about. Cunning has made a BEAUTIFUL heroine.


Violet's monsters, Arion, Vance, Damien, and Emit, deserve all the praises. They are such swoon-worthy characters. Although Violet grows the most, all four of them equally develop quite a bit in this fifth book. Oftentimes, we see the four monsters focused on the Idun issue. By the way, Idun is their really, really, REALLY old, evil and cruel ex from back in the day. I can totally get why Arion, Vance, Damien, and Emit are focused on Idun, as she is an incredibly vile monster. The relationship between Violet and her monsters becomes much more developed. Violet's four monsters still treat her like fragile glass, which I would say makes sense as she is quite naive and innocent. However, Arion, Vance, Damien, and Emit are slowly learning to treat Violet as someone who is capable of handling herself and the terrifying, monstrous world.


Writing Style/Narration


OH. MY. GOODNESS. Cunning has an amazing writing style. Every part of the book is EXTREMELY DETAILED, causing readers (like me) to be captivated by every sentence. The world-building and the action scenes were written in such a vivid way; I could easily picture the world and the action scenes Cunning has created. Like the previous books in the series, Gypsy Rising is narrated in first person by the five main characters, Violet, Arion, Damien, Vance, and Emit. My favourite narrator would have to be Ario because he has a fascinating personality and he is the most deranged...LOL.


Critics:


I have no criticslike always.


Final Review:



Honestly, I'm about t faint because this book is just TOO good. Gypsy Rising is my favourite book in the whole series so far. This whole series is DEFINITELY one of the best and most hilarious series ever. I've never laughed so much while reading until I picked up Cunning's fantastic series, All the Pretty Monsters. EVERYONE MUST READ THIS SERIES, especially the fifth book.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page