top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Gypsy Moon by Kristy Cunning

Book #4 of "All The Pretty Monsters" series.


Rating: 5 HOLY GUACAMOLE stars (5/5)


Spoiler Alert: Low



Summary:


Imagine searching your whole life for answers, and then finally finding them. A part of you is excited to know the truth. Another part of you is damaged, because you realize why it was so hard to learn answers.


Secrets aren't usually very pretty.


In the midst of all of it, the four monsters I've gotten too attached to are about to be reunited with the one woman they all once loved so deeply that they sacrificed everything to have an eternity with her.


They said they hated Arion, but I never see hatred when they're around him. I see frustration, resentment, anger, and pain, but never hatred.


They say they hate Idun, but until she returns, I won't know how true that really is. All the pretty monsters don't have simple emotions, because everyone has lived so long that it's gotten entirely too complicated to feel anything too much.


The only way to figure out what happens next is to stop stalling and start doing, while silently hoping it doesn't cost me everything I never knew I wanted...until it landed in my lap.


My life sucks so hard sometimes.


Praises:



Plot:


I'll be honest, I literally powered through the rest of the books in this series. Why did I do that? It's because Cunning is a cunningly smart writer...see what I just did there? Her plot development from the first book to the fourth one, Gypsy Moon, becomes significantly better. Now, I'm not saying that the plots in the last three books weren't good. In fact, they were absolutely intriguing and engaging to read. I've read other reviews about this fourth book, where many people claimed that they were incredibly confused with the whole story. This is definitely not the case for me. Personally, I think the plot development—from the rising action to the climax to the falling action—kept me on the edge of my seat. Well, in this case, it was the edge of my bed.


Characters:


In every book, it's the characters that bring the story to life. This is unmistakably the case for Gypsy Moon. The main protagonist, Violet, is an incredibly interesting heroine with various personalities and character qualities. She manages to be innocent and naive yet stubborn and strong-willed—a deadly combination if you ask me. Many characters underestimate Violet, but she is easily one of the most intelligent characters in the whole series. Honestly, I would totally be best friends with her.


The other protagonists, Vance, Damian, Arion, and Emit, make the book so much better. They all have life-like human qualities to them even though they're monsters. A little bit of background: Vance is a monster hunter. Damian is an incubus. Arion is a vampire, and Emit is a werewolf. The character growth and development for these four are just oh-so-satisfying to read, especially Arion. In the first few books, he is seen to be borderline evil. However, by the fourth book, Arion displays acts less like a blood-thirsty monster and more like a caring vampire who doesn't want to kill every person and monster he sees. This is because Violet's relationship with all four monsters brings the best out of all of them. Cunning has written beautiful and complex characters.


Narrative/Writing Style:


Cunning's writing style impresses me every time I pick up one of her books. She is a very meticulous writer, meaning her writing style is amazingly descriptive. I feel like I could just show her a rock and ask her to describe it, and then, she will create a whole novel with that one rock as the main character.


The world-building from the first book to the fourth book makes me feel like I'm in the story with Violet. Cunning has created vivid imagery with her stellar imagination skills. I am rendered SPEECHLESS. I can literally paint a picture of this series' world with a mere description.


Like the previous books, Gypsy Moon is narrated in first person. Violet, Vance, Emit, Damian, and Arion all take turns to narrate. Though, Violet narrates the most as she is the main protagonist. I love how this book's narration alternates between characters because I can see and understand what each main character is feeling and experiencing.


Critics:


I really have no critics. Although I was a tad bit confused in the previous book, I wasn't confused at all in this fourth book.


Final Review:


The pig is a bit creepy, but you get the point.

Now, it's time for the final review. Dun Dun Dunnn! I mean, it's not going to be anything shocking considering the fact that I've been raving about Gypsy Moon this whole time. What I want to say is that I recommend this book and the entire series to every single adult out there. I purposefully excluded people who aren't adults like children and young teenagers, as this series is for mature readers. Okay, prepare to hear my shouts in...3, 2, 1. YOU MUST READ THIS SERIES. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page