top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Gypsy Origins by Kristy Cunning

Book #3 of "All The Pretty Monsters" series.


Rating: 5/5


Spoiler Alert: Very Low



Summary:


I'm like a snowball rolling downhill.


That's the first thing that pops into my mind when I try to explain my life. I don't know exactly 'what' I am, but I do know who I am.


At least...I did.


Sometimes life sends things your way that upend everything you thought you knew, and then slings you in another direction without any sort of harness or warning.


Sometimes it drops someone like me off in the path of four wildly different monsters, who all used to be best friends, but now sort of hate each other and compete over absolutely everything, including...me.


Life would be easier if I wasn't already attached to those four monsters, but they occasionally let their guard down around me, and I get a glimpse of what has to stay hidden under all those snowball layers, since they already rolled downhill a long time ago.


I'm tired of losing people I care about. I'm tired of searching aimlessly for answers. I'm tired of not having the right questions to ask.


I'm really tired of feeling like my vagina is cursed, but that's obviously lower on the list of priorities. But in my vagina's defense, it may not do tricks, but I keep it pretty. It shouldn't keep scaring men/monsters off so easily, and it's honestly starting to make me feel a little insecure.


Anyway, I'm finally closer than ever to having all the answers. So long as no new secrets emerge.


Praises:


Plot:


I swear the plot just gets better and better. I'm loving the progress of the story from the first book to the third one. The whole plot gets way more interesting and mysterious. Incredibly captivating and engaging, I was sucked into this book so fast, I finished it in literally two hours. (Yes. I know, I'm a fast reader and this book is 293 pages.)


Characters:


Oh my gosh. The characters are all outstanding, remarkable, magnificent, and many other adjectives. We see Violet grow so much as a person and with her relationships between the four other main characters. Violet's character development is truly a spectacular aspect of the book and she progresses so much. I'm not going to say too much about the characters because I don't want to spoil anything but all the characters are super fun to read about and they are all worth the read.


Writing Style/Narrative:


Such masterful work. Seriously. Cunning is a cunning writer. (See what I did there?!) Her ability to write and tell a story is a gift as the first, second, and third book in the series are so gripping, you want to read all of them in one sitting. Her writing is meticulous and descriptive. In terms of the narrative, just like the first book, we have multiple POVs. Violet is our main POV but we have a significant amount of narration from the other four main characters—Vance, Arion, Emit, and Damien. Every chapter is narrated in first person, making it a spectacular read.


Critics:


No critics at all. I can't express my love for this series enough right now.



Final Review:


When I decided to pick up the first book in the series, it's probably one of the best decisions I've ever made this year. Every time I finish reading a book in this series, I'm rendered speechless and I literally jump into the next novel. Everything about the third book deserves a lot of praise because it's just so beautifully crafted and written. I also feel like this series is along the borderline of creepy and horror because of all the mysterious and peculiar events that happen, causing the story to be a million times more exciting to read. I absolutely love the romance between Violet and her guys as well as the suspense and craziness. EVERYONE needs to read this series.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)



Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page