top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Gypsy Freak by Kristy Cunning

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

Book #2 of "All the Pretty Monsters" series


Rating: 5/5 (MAGNIFICIENT)


Spoiler Alert: Low




Summary:


What's it like to be a monster in a town full of monsters, who don't know you're a monster?

Complicated and a little scary, but doable.


What's it like to be the girl who can't die...that everyone seems to always want to kill?

Frustrating as hell.


What's it like to accidentally raise psychotic alpha vampire everyone fears, who drops many bodies on his first day out as a 'gift' for your troubles?

Terrifying, if I'm being honest.


What's it like when that crazed vampire tells you he wants you to be the happy little intermission, during an ongoing ancient story, and expects you to use your vagina to draw in a werewolf alpha, a Van Helsing alpha, and a sexual deviant alpha, so he can have his old friends back?

That's when a girl has to stop, look around, and question her life choices.


I really don't know how this stuff keeps happening to me. Life was simpler when it was just me accidentally blowing myself up while trying to create potions and shampoo.


I've lived my life in such secrecy that I've spent most of it lonely. So lonely, in fact, that my best friend is a delusional ghost. I'd rather focus on her than all the crazy things happening in my life at current. Ever since coming to this town, I've had my throat slit by vampires, attracted way too much attention from some powerful alphas, and did a lot of regrettably stupid things because...I'm too gullible for shady monsters.


To them, I'm the fool.

To them, I'm the naive girl in over my head.

To them, I'm the pawn on a worn chessboard, while the seasoned players knock me around.


Meanwhile, I'm still left to figure it all out on my own, because, just like me, no one wants to share their secrets.


Praises:


Plot:


Kristy Cunning does not joke around when it comes to the plot. It gets so much better than the first book. Seriously. The plot is one of the most interesting ones I've ever read. It picks up right where we left off in book one, and it has the most perfect pace ever, not too slow and not too rushed. The story ends with so many questions unanswered and a cliff-hanger too. (So, be ready to get super frustrated with a cliffhanger. They're so annoying).


Characters:


The character development is extremely well-crafted. In the story, we have five main characters:

  • Violet

  • Vance

  • Damien

  • Arion

  • Emit

Let me say that every character is amazing. I especially love Anna (but I do wonder what happened to her). Each character has their own personalities, and it makes the story so much fun to read. All of the characters, especially Violet, continue to grow, and readers get more knowledge of background information about Vance, Damien, Arion, and Emit. We get to see way more growth with Violet. She gives off the biggest gypsy vibes ever. Most importantly...THE CHARACTERS ARE HILARIOUS.




Writing Style/Narrative:


The writing style is INCREDIBLY captivating. The dialogue is hilarious. The descriptions are so detailed. Everything about the writing style blows my mind. The book is around 270 pages and Cunning manages to keep me engaged throughout the whole novel. It's just that good.


I personally love books that are told from multiple points of view and in first person. It makes the book way more engaging and fun to read. This book is told from five points of view, all of which are in first person. Yes, I know it may seem like many POVs, but trust me when I say that it makes the story so much better. My favourite points of view are Arion's and Violet's. AND because each character has their own personality, the POVs are always different.


Criticism:


The only thing I will critic is that the story can be a bit confusing. I had a hard time figuring out what Violet was (Gypsy? Huh?). Sometimes, I felt that there were events just thrown into the novel just because. But, this does not affect my rating whatsoever because the book just deserves the highest rating possible.


Final Review:




Now you've made it to the final review. I'm just going to get right into it and say that this book was life. It was my oxygen provider. Seriously super duper duper good. I cannot express my love for this book with words. Everyone has to read it. No. Everyone MUST read it. It is a must. Add this series to your reading list. I stayed up all night reading this book with my head propped against my pillow and my e-reader on my lap. Conclusion: READ IT.


PS: I find the cover for this novel super pretty and grungy.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page