top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Flock by Kate Stewart

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Book #1 of "The Ravenhood Duet".


Rating: 3/5 (It was ok)


Spoiler Alert: Medium




Summary:


I grew up sick.⁣

Let me clarify.⁣

I grew up believing that real love stories include a martyr or demand great sacrifice to be worthy.⁣

Because of that, I believed it, because I made myself believe it, and I bred the most masochistic of romantic hearts, which resulted in my illness.⁣

When I lived this story, my own twisted fairy tale, it was unbeknownst to me at the time because I was young and naïve. I gave into temptation and fed the beating beast, which grew thirstier with every slash, every strike, every blow.⁣

Triple Falls wasn’t at all what it seemed, nor were the men that swept me under their wing. But to keep them, I had to be in on their secrets.⁣

Secrets that cost us everything to keep.⁣

That’s the novelty of fiction versus reality. You can’t re-live your own love story, because by the time you’ve realized you’re living it, it’s over. At least that was the case for me and the men I trusted my foolish heart to.⁣

Looking back, I’m convinced I willed my story into existence due to my illness.⁣

And all were punished.


Praises:


Plot:


The plot is quite an interesting one. I've never read anything like it. There are so many unanswered questions, and while reading, it kept me on my toes. I literally didn't expect what would come next because it's just so mysterious. The ending of this book is a MASSIVE plot twist. My reaction to the end went probably along the lines of "Ummm... what just happened" and "wait... whatttttt".


Characters:


Similar to the plot, the characters are incredibly fascinating. I don't even know how to describe them. The main character, Cecelia, is probably the only straightforward character who I actually understand. The other characters, Sean and Dom, are EXTREMELY complex. Dom, especially, is complex. They all have their own personalities, with Sean being the light-hearted guy, Dom being the broody, dark guy, and Cecelia being the young, fresh-faced woman about to start college. Stewart created some very compelling characters.


Critics:




I'm giving this book only 3 stars because I'm not a fan of it. This is where I will be critiquing the characters, plot, romance, and the overall plot.


Let's start with the characters. No offence to Cecelia, but she is a complete pain in my arse. Aside from her wittiness and sarcasm, I found her quite annoying, who literally complained about anything. She is someone who is easily jealous and who only thinks of herself. I know she has daddy issues, but she needs to grow up. At first, we get to see act very adult-like. Then, when she meets Sean, Dom, and the brotherhood, she literally turns into a child. I kid you not. She acts likes a child even though so many older men and women surround her.


Enough about Cecelia, now I'm going to rant about Sean. Sean's whole personality gets on my nerves. His inability to answer questions in the simplest straightforward answers makes me want to punch the guy. Like is it that hard to answer a question without spinning it around? I also think he is incredibly selfish. He does not seem to appreciate or put Cecelia's interest first. Everything he does seems to be for his own benefit and interest.


Lastly, we have Dom. I swear the guy has never heard of manners. The way he treats Cecelia, don't even get me started on that. Even though I find Cecelia to be very annoying, she at least deserves some respect from Dom. He treats her like trash. But, Dom ends up winning me over halfway through the book, and he becomes a little bit less nasty.


Like I said above, the plot is an interesting one. I just found that it dragged on and on for such a long time. We're so focused on the romantic relationship Cecelia develops with Sean and later Dom, that I completely lost the plot. The story's problem needs to be clearer because the romance aspect of the book just loses everything. The romance has a ginormous presence. At one point, I just got so sick of the romance (and that barely ever happens). I swear I passed out halfway while reading this.


Final Review:



I guess a lot of people liked this book because it has a 4.3/5 review on Goodreads. I am clearly not one of them. I think this book is okay. It has its positives and negatives, but I personally think there are more negatives. Normally, I'm a big fan of romance and mystery combined in a story. This story, however, is not at all my cup of tea. I just found so many characters super annoying, and the plot is weird. The writing style makes me want to pass out; it's so boring. Anyways, I would still recommend this novel and give it a chance because someone else might like it. But, I would not read this book ever again.


PS: Stewart, I apologize. I am not a huge fan of this book at all.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page