top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Aggro by Carrie Gray and Coralee June

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

This is is a standalone novel.


Rating: 5/5 (ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING)


Spoiler Alert: Low to Medium



Summary:


Two boys.

One tragedy.

Grief bonds us.

The mystery of this murder will break us.


My best friend was brutally ripped from this world, but her brother and boyfriend are still here.


One of them wants to use me.

The other wants to forget me.


Both of them make me feel alive.


We’ll find Violet’s murderer, no matter the cost.


Two boys.

One tragedy.

Grief bonds us.

Love will tear us apart.


Praises:



Plot:


Where do I even start with the plot? This book's plot takes you on a whirlwind. It is just so suspenseful while balancing with romance. Throughout the story, we join the characters on a massive journey with grief, guilt, healing, and love. It's a story about friendship, family, and intimate relationships. All the events leading up to the climax are breathtaking (literally) and don't even get me started on the ending. The ending is seriously a shock. I'm still so shocked; it's replaying in my mind. Guys, I'm not even joking around. The ending is going to blow your mind. *cue the massive explosion in your brain*


Characters:


Every single character is beautifully written. We have three main characters; Bree, Chase, and Kai. They all have their own flaws and are struggling with loss and forgiveness while trying to solve Violet's murder, the best friend of Bree, the twin sister of Chase, and the girlfriend of Kai. Her death causes all three characters to come together and help each other. The character development is so rich and complex; they're all so distinct from one another and incredibly intense.


Romance:


For those of you who really don't like love triangles, I'm adding in a romance part to let you know that there is basically no love triangle. We see a tad bit in the first few chapters but after, it becomes pretty clear who Bree develops a romantic relationship with. The romance is filled with so many emotions and angst. Bree and her love interest help each other heal and deal with their shared suffering.


Mystery:


As you can probably already tell, this book revolves around Violet's murder and how she dies. The mystery and suspense literally kept me on the edge of my seat (and this case, it's my bed since I was reading on my bed). It gives me GOOSEBUMPS from reading this because the mystery is absolutely hauntingly chilling. I'm also going to repeat myself because the ending adds even more to the mystery aspect of the book.


Writing Style/ Narrative:


I will describe the writing in one word. Masterful. Both June's and Gray's writing style are outstanding and gripping. The character development, the grieving process, the ending, and just about everything is a piece of art. The story is never rushed, detailing every single emotion the characters felt in the novel. I could even feel the emotions that the characters were going through. The narrative is told in first person and alternates between the three characters; Breeze, Kai, and Chase. Though, we do see a lot more narration from Breeze than the other two characters. Chase narrates the least but it doesn't prevent readers at all from intensely feeling what Chase is going through. June and Gray are absolutely geniuses when it comes to writing heart-wrenching romantic suspense/mystery novels.



Critics:


NONE. ZERO. AUCUN. ZÉRO. I don't have any critics for this book. At first, I didn't like Chase but halfway through the novel, he ends up winning me over.


Final Review:


My final verdict...Everyone should read this book!!! If you're looking for something emotional and suspenseful, then pick this novel up and get ready for a ride. I cannot express how raw and real the story is. It is so captivating, unpredictable, haunting, beautiful. (I'm just listing adjectives at this point but you get the point.) I consider this book a one of a kind and a full-on phenomenon.


Happy Reading!


Cheers

Jessica :)

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page