top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Book #2 of "A Court of Thorns and Roses" series.


Rating: 5/5


Spoiler Alert: Very Low



Summary:


Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people.


Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


Praises:


Plot:


Every time I finish reading this book, I'm literally speechless and gasping for air. Yes, you must all be thinking, "How many times has she read this book?" Well to all the inquisitive minds out there, I've re-read this book about five times. And guess what? THE PLOT NEVER CEASES TO AMAZE ME. This isn't even an exaggeration. The plot for the second book of this series is EXTREMELY better than the first novel. A Court of Mist and Fury picks off right where the first book ends off and it's just oh-so-satisfying to read again and again and again. This is all I will be saying about the plot.


Characters:


Oh. My. Gosh. The character development from the first book to the end of the second book is such a drastic development. Every single character changes so much. They grow up so fast *Me trying to hold in tears...sniff sniff.* Let's get onto the reviews for each character in this book...


The artist this fan art is truly gifted.
  • Feyre:

Feyre is a beautiful character. Maas has created a phenomenal and complex character whose character development is one of the biggest. I'm just going to say it. Feyre is a bad*ss. She's intelligent, adaptable, witty, ambitious, determined, passionate. Alright, I'm just praising her with adjectives at this point. What I'm trying to say is that Feyre is a VERY STRONG heroine. *The feminist in me screams.*


  • Rhysand:

He is the epitome of a perfect male character. I'm even jealous of Feyre. In the second book, Rhys is still quite a mystery but we get to know more of his backstory and struggles as he grows closer to Feyre. We see him as a somewhat antagonist in the first book; however, he completely took me by surprise when Rhys displays vulnerable qualities. Overall, Rhys is one of my favourite characters in the whole series so far.


  • Tamlin

I have a love-hate relationship with Tamlin; although, I'm leaning more to the hate side. When we first were introduced to Tamline in book one, I quite liked him. Now if you ask me if I like Tamline after finishing A Court of Mist and Fury. The answer is the complete opposite. I am not rooting for him at all, even though I pity him a lot. Anyway, Maas is a ruthless writer. Why do I say this? It's because she manages to completely turn my feelings and views on Tamlin from loving him to pitying and disliking him.


  • Rhysand's Inner Circle

In the second book, we meet Rhy's Inner Circle—Amren, Morrigan, Cassian, and Azriel. I absolutely love every single one of these characters. Maas creates each character with their own personality and character development. They're all distinct from one another, completely enhancing the book. My favourite character is Morrigan as she is incredibly fierce and passioanite yet has internal struggles.


Romance:



The romance part of this book is OUT OF THIS WORLD. It is so JUICY. I love the passion and emotions were running high. Feyre and Rhys have a breathtaking relationship that develops drastically from the beginning of the second book to the end of it. This is all I'm going to say about the romance brewing between Feyre and Rhys. I don't want to spoil anything!


Writing/Narrating Style:


This series' narrating style is in first-personmy favourite style ever—told in Feyre's perspective throughout the entire second book. Maas's writing style is detailed and descriptive with vivid world-building, complex characters, and a heart-pounding plot. She is a very talented writer who keeps getting better and better. There's just something special about her books that consumes you and drags you right into the fictional world.


Critics:


None. I cannot think of any critics for this book.


Final Review:



You've finally made it to the end of this review. Congrats! Honestly, I can continue praising this book for the rest of my life. It's ALWAYS going to be one of my favourite series. A Court of Mist and Fury is my favourite of all the books in the series as we get more plot development and twists. Now, I'll be showering Maas with praises. She outdid herself with this unique series. She is a gifted, talented, and clever writer who should NEVER stop writing. I definitely recommend this series, especially the second book, to EVERYONE.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page