top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Taming Demons for Beginners by Annette Marie

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Book #1 of "The Guild Codex: Demonized" series


Rating: 5/5 (5 SPARKLY STARS)


Spoiler Alert: Low to Medium



(The book cover itself just gives me life.)


Summary:


Rule one: Don't look at the demon.


When I arrived at my uncle's house, I expected my relatives to be like me—outcast sorcerers who don't practice magic. I was right about the sorcery, but wrong about everything else.


Rule two: Don't listen to the demon.


My uncle chose a far deadlier power. He calls creatures of darkness into our world, binds them into service contracts, and sells them to the highest bidder. And I'm supposed to act like I don't know how illegal and dangerous it is.


Rule three: Don't talk to the demon.


All I had to do was keep my nose out of it. Pretend I didn't find the summoning circle in the basement. Pretend I didn't notice the shadowy being trapped inside it. Pretend I didn't break the rules.


But I did, and now it's too late.


Praise:


Plot:


This book's plot gives me the biggest Harry Potter and Shadwowhunter series by Cassandra Clare vibes ever (even though it's completely different from Harry Potter and it's a new adult book). It is such a fun plot. From the first chapter all the way to the end, the plot drew me in so quickly. It's such a unique and creative take on demons and the underworld. One of the best plots I've read so far this year!


PS: There's basically no romance right now. So all the shippers out there, prepare yourselves.


Characters:



The main character, Robin, is so relatable. Literally, the most relatable heroine I've ever read in a fantasy/paranormal book. She's a bookworm who's short and struggles with social anxiety, but she is just as badass as any other main character in other novels. Her character growth from the beginning of the novel to the end is amazing. She becomes so much more confident but is still the same relatable Robin.


Zylas deserves his own praise. Marie created such a fascinating and brilliant character. At first, I had mixed feelings about him but he quickly became one of my favourite characters in the whole novel. I'm just going to say it... he's a demon. An amazing demon who's definitely going to win you over by the end of the first book. Also, I love the name Zylas.


(By the way, the other characters are also magnificent. I just wanted to talk about the two main characters—Robin and Zylas)


CONCLUSION: I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THE CHARACTERS.


Writing Style/Narrative:


Gosh darn. Marie did not disappoint. Her writing style is INCREDIBLY CAPTIVATING. You know what that means. It means I stayed up all night reading this book. The dialogue is its own form of entertainment—witty, funny, serious, emotional, and literally made me feel so many different emotions. I would say that this story is along the fast-paced side but Marie did an outstanding job. The narrative is in first person, told by the heroine, Robin. We get to see all her turmoil and inner struggles while growing into much more confident and assured. Marie is seriously a remarkable writer.


Critics:


I will not give a single critic for this book because HOLY GUACAMOLE, IT IS JUST EXTRAORDINARILY GLORIOUS.


Final Review:



I immediately picked up the next book in the series after I finished the first one. This book makes me SPEECHLESS. I'm still starstruck from how amazing this book is. Everyone should be reading this series ASAP. Buy it on your e-reader, at the bookstore, or even on amazon because you are missing out. I recommend this to all ages even to the teens out there (but keep in mind it is a New Adult novel). READ IT RIGHT NOW!!!


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page