top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Slaying Monsters for the Feeble by Annette Marie

Book #2 of "The Guild Codex: Demonized" series.


Rating: 5/5


Spoiler Alert: Very Low



Summary:


I'm bound to a demon.


For my entire life, I avoided magic at all costs. Now, I'm responsible for a demon who wields magic more powerful than the toughest mage or sorcerer.


Demons are evil.


That's what my textbooks say. That's what I see. He's ruthless, he's temperamental, he's cold. But he protects me without fail. I wonder if he's hiding a heart behind his hostility.


My demon is a monster.


Whether he's heartless or not, my contract with him is illegal and beyond dangerous. Together, we must find a way to return to his own world before anyone discovers our secret. If that wasn't bad enough, I've come to realize something else:


My demon isn't the only monster I should be worried about.


Praises:


Plot:


The plot for the second book of the series is absolutely amazing. The minute I started reading this book, it drew me in so fast. I consider this story medium-paced as it takes its time to develop. But don't worry, even if it takes slower to develop, it is still an engaging storyline that keeps you on your toes.


Characters:


Just like the first book's review, in the second book, Robin is still that relatable heroine. However, we see so much more growth from her. She becomes way more confident and sure of herself. Zylas helps her a lot, achieving this as he is always challenging her and making her come out of her shell. The character development for both Robin and Zylas is mesmerizing. We really see true growth as their own character and growth between them. There is a closer relationship developing between them, and they bring the best out of each other.


Writing Style/Narrative


The writing style is spectacular. The way Marie writes draws readers in at the very first word. Her worldbuilding and description for every detail create such vivid imagery. Also, Marie writes phenomenal action and fighting scenes. Oftentimes, we see Robin and her demons, Zylas, fight others, and the way it is written is incredibly captivating to read. In terms of narration, the second book is narrated in Robin's point of view. It is in first person, which is my personal favourite. But, I really wish we had a few chapters with Zylas's narration because I really want to hear his opinions about Robin's human world.


Critics


No critics at all. This is a great continuation of the series.


Final Review:



Now for the final review...Marie did it again! Another awesome book in the series. I am so glad I picked up this series to read. It does not disappoint at all. Personally, I love the second book way more than the first book because we see so much development in every aspect of the story. The characters, setting, and overall plot are all beautifully created. This is a firm 100% recommendation to everyone all ages. Everyone MUST read this series. It just gets better and better.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page