top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Delivering Evil for Experts by Annette Marie

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Book #4 in "The Guild Codex: Demonized" series.

This is the LAST book in the series.


Rating: 5 FANTASTIC STARS (5/5)


Spoiler Alert: High



Summary:


I promised to avenge my parents.


But their killer is still on the loose, and he's stolen more than my parents' lives. Now, as he draws closer to his mysterious goals, he's poised to destroy what little I have left.


I promised to translate an ancient grimoire.


But it holds the secrets of my family—and the secret history of demon summoning. I fear its answers as much as I need them. Who was the foremother of Demonica…and who am I?


I promised to send my demon home.


But the way he watches me, the way he protects me, the way he touches me⁠—how can I cast him away forever? I swore I would do this for him, but can I? Should I?


But I promised—and I will keep my promises even if they cost me my heart, my soul, and my life.


The Review:


Someone, please come and resuscitate me. I'm left breathless after reading the last book in the series. But before I get to the review, I would like to say that this review will be in a slightly different format than my usual reviews. I won't be separating this review into specific categories like plot, characters, and writing style. Instead, I'm going to be writing one enormous review.


Now onto the review...


First of all, the only thing I'm upset about is the fact that this series is OVER. Whyyy does it have to be over?! Tears are coming out of the corner of my eyes because I want this series to keep going on and on and on. Marie has made me love the characters in this series from start to finish. I've grown to love Robin and Zylas so much. I'm truly ADDICTED.


Let's start with the plot of this fourth book. I'm just going to say it...the ending is BRILLIANT. It's such a satisfying ending, wrapping up the whole series in a little neat bow. The beginning of the novel picks up right after the end of the third book. Robin is currently battling her feelings about Zylas as well as trying to avenge the murderer of her parents, Claudeaka Xever. Oh, and on top of that, she's given the task to help Ezra, a demon mage, to get rid of his demon before he dies. A little backstory: Ezra is a main character in another series called, The Guild Codex: Spellbound, and he is trying to remove the demon, Eterran, from himself. Anyways, Robin is clearly struggling with a series of external and internal conflicts. However, she has the help of her demon, Zylas, and her cousin. Let's just say that the ending is INCREDIBLY SATISFYING. Though, I don't really know what happens to Ezra and his demon but his story is in the other series. While reading, I really enjoyed the many plots happening at once, keeping me engaged and on the edge of my bed.


Robin

I want to draw special attention to Robin and Zylas and their beautiful relationship. It's super clear in the first half of the last book that Robin struggles with her feelings about Zylas. She lives in a world where demons are seen as evil, and they are "slaves" to the human and mage world. Robin, however, is a unique heroine who ends up falling in love with her demon. I'll admit...I definitely saw this coming when I first started reading this series. The connection that Robin and Zylas have is unbreakable. They learn to trust and confide in each other. Specifically, Robin gets over her fear of demons and truly accepts Zylas for who he is. I literally shredded a few tears at the end of the book. It's because Zylas ends up picking Robin over going back home to his demon world. This truly shows how much he cares for her, and it makes me cry happy tears. What makes this whole relationship better is that Robin disregards the fact that Zylas is a demon. Since she lives in a world where demons are mistreated and discriminated against, that still does not deter her from loving Zylas. I ship them so hard, and I wish there were more books in the series. They truly love each other with their whole hearts. *Sighs*


Zylas

Now, I'm going to focus mainly on Marie, the fantastically clever writer of this whole series. I can't believe her. She has created one of the best series I've ever written. Every single part of this series—the romance, the action, the suspense, the fighting scenesflowed together so well. Gosh, I could gush about this series forever, especially this last book. I have no idea how Marie can come up with such a plot. Her writing style exceeds my expectations tenfold. She manages to describe every scene, character and setting with so much detail and vividness. Who's ever reading this review, please please please pick up this series. You will not be disappointed. I am more than impressed.


EVERYONE BOW DOWN TO THE QUEEN, ANNETTE MARIE.


"All hail queen Marie!" declared me, Jessica Han.


Happy Reading!

Cheers,


Jessica

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page