top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

Darkthirst by Bella Forrest

Book #2 of "Darklight" series.


Rating: 3/5


Spoiler Alert: Medium



Summary:


“Without us, evil will continue to grow. In the end, it will consume everything. Everyone.”


Sink deeper into the enthralling world of Darklight...


*Disclaimer: I have no idea why there's no summary for the second book.*


Praises:


I quite enjoyed reading the second book of this series. Darkthirst continues right where the first book left off, and it is very satisfying to see humans and vampires begin to work with each other. I'm not saying that all humans and vampires are working together, but Lyra's friends and teammates, as well as Dorian's vampire clan, are getting along extremely well. I really like how humans and vampires are becoming more and more friendly and trusting with each other. Honestly, I've been rooting for Dorian and his clan this whole time. We see them battling against the Bureau and the evil Uncle Alan. Simultaneously, other conflicts are happening, including issues with the Immortal Plane and Lyra and Dorian's relationship. It is a riveting and fascinating plot, making it SUPER DUPER fun to read.


I really like Forrest's writing style. She can be very descriptive and engaging at the same time. The world she has created blows my mind every time I think about it. How does Forrest just happen to come up with the Immortal Plane? With the Bureau? With the evil lurking in both worldsthe Immortal Plane and Earth? I love how there are two worlds, Earth and the Immortal Plane. Also, the fact that multiple major enemies and conflicts occur during the entire second book shows that Forrest is a creative and imaginative author. FANTASTIC JOB!


Critics:



Now, it's time for the critics. Dun dun dunnn!!!


There are several reasons why I'm giving this second book only three stars out of five. First, character development lacked significantly. Lyra becomes annoying and naive, and the same goes for her human friends and teammates. Immediately, we see that her teammates do not take Lyra's word that the Bureau has brutal plans for the vampire race. Even when Lyra shows them proof of these plans, her teammates still don't believe her. This considerably aggravated me because it shows that Lyra's teammates and closeted friends would put the Bureau over her. Basically, they prefer the Bureau over their own friend, who they've been closely working with for years. Eventually, Lyra's friends and teammates come around, but this is only AFTER they get tortured and beaten by the Bureau. Like I said, this annoyed me so much.


Let's talk about Lyra. I don't understand why she still thinks her Uncle Alan deserves to de "redeemed." It doesn't matter that he's a blood relative; Alan is a dark and evil person who doesn't care about anyone else except for himself. At the end of the first book, Darklight, Uncle Alan hates vampires and wants to exterminate them. YET, in the second book, Lyra just can't see how incredibly evil he is all because Alan is her uncle. I just don't understand that, and it shows Lyra's naivety.

Overall, I think that many of the characters in the second book are infuriating and unnecessarily naive. There's no three-dimensional or life-like quality about them. It just hurts to see such an interesting and well-developed plot but have annoying qualities in the main and secondary characters. This makes me want to cry because the first book was so good, and the second one didn't do as well. THERE WAS SO MUCH POTENTIAL. *sighs*


Final Review:



Okay, I'm done with the critics. Although character development is insufficient, I still consider Darkthirst a book that is worth the read. I pulled through all the way to the end, and the story picks up a lot with many shocking revelations and captivating aspects. This book and the series are definitely for teenagers and adults. Just remember that my review and opinion about a book can be very different from someone else's. So, I would recommend this book even though I'm only giving it a rating of 3/5.


Happy Reading!

Cheers,

Jessica

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page