top of page
  • Writer's picturebookssica

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Updated: Dec 9, 2020

Book #1 of “A Court of Thorns and Roses” series


Rating: 5/5 (I CANNOT BREATHE)


Spoiler Alert: Low to Medium




Summary:


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it…or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.


Praises:


Plot:


This by far is one of the best plots ever created by Maas. The pace of the plot is just phenomenal, written in such a detailed way. There’s a huge cliff hanger at the end of the novel and so many questions left unanswered. Beautifully written with vivid descriptions, every event leading up to the climax and the following events were all so magnificent and heart-pounding. Maas has outdone herself with the plot! SO GOOD.


Characters:


The characters, oh gosh, where do I start? The character development is so good. Let me rephrase that... THE CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT IS SPECTACULAR. We get to see growth in every character as they’re all struggling with their own issues. I’m also going to include a review for three of the characters because why not.


  • Feyre


She is such a courageous and strong main character, dealing with so many hardships and problems thrown in her way. You would think Feyre would eventually give up and break down, but nooo. She stands right back up and gets braver and braver. I literally love Feyre as the MC. Maas has created an amazing heroine.


  • Tamlin


Maybe I being biased (since I have read all the books that have been released so far in the series), but Tamlin is my LEAST favourite character. He needs to take a chill pill. Yup, that’s all I’m going to say about him.


  • Rhysand


I can talk about Rhysand for hours. He is an amazing character. Even though he doesn’t really show up that much in this first novel, he literally took the spotlight. Rhysand is such an interesting character, especially towards the end of the novel. At times, I felt bad for him because of everything he went through. I literally love this character. Rhys is my all-time favourite.

Setting:


The setting deserves its own review. I’m just going to say that the story is set in a gorgeous fantasy world that deserves to be recognized. We have multiple courts where the fae live and rule their territory. It is such an interesting setting with so many different “cultures”. The world-building was unique and deserves so much praise.

Writing Style/ Narrative:


In this novel, it’s told in first person by the main character, Feyre. Through this point of view, we get to see her development as well as others. The writing style literally takes readers on a ride because it creates a feeling that we’re in the story too with Feyre. It seems as if we are the ones thrust into the world of fae. It was incredibly descriptive, making it super easy to imagine the world and what each character looks like. I freaking love the narrative and writing style

Romance:


I feel that the romance in the novel needs its own praise. Maas writes such a vivid romance—emphasis on vivid. It gave me a truly romantic feeling and it was so descriptive. (Maybe a little too descriptive at times considering this is a young adult novel.) The romance part is a huge part of the whole story and an important part too. I would call the first book a medium to fast-paced romance. IT WAS SO GOOD.


Critics:


To be honest, I have no critics about this story. This book will only get praises from me, except for Tamlin. I really don’t like him.

Final Review:




And now the final review... I RECOMMEND this book to everyone. If you're an adult, read it. If you're in your teens, also read it. Everyone should give this book (and the whole book series) a chance and trust me, you will not be disappointed. There's something about the way Maas writes that gives every story a poetic vibe to it. I'm just going to say it... the next few books get better and better. If you like the first book, you're going to LOVE the second one.


Happy Reading!


Cheers,

Jessica :)

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page